Skip to main content

Applied Taxation: e-Databases

ACCT 370

Searching Tips

Search here for journal articles on your subject.  Start with these databases, they cover a wide range of relevant subjects therefore you should find some resources on your topic, or use following search box to search in all the library collections.

Examples of "smart searching" techniques:

  • Narrow a search using AND
    • Example:  accounting AND book keeping
  • Broaden a search by using OR  (Separate synonyms with an OR) 
    • Example:  (accounting OR bookkeeping OR computing) AND
      (business OR corporation)  
  • Broaden a search by using Truncation  (Use a truncation symbol to search for different endings to words)
    • Example:   (account* OR bookkeeping OR computing) AND
      (finan* OR commerce)
  • Search for words as phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks
    • Example:  "financial accounting"
  • You can also use the left column (Refined Results) to narrow or expand the search results using “limit to”, “source type” or “subject” etc.

Librarians can also help you with any questions you have. Speak with them in person or send a query online to Ask a Librarian.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Cost accounting, advanced accounting etc. etc.

Search Articles

SCOPUS

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Google Scholar

Search help on Web Discovery

User Guide 

The links on this page are designed to cover the basics of using the EBSCOhost interface. This includes how to search and browse EBSCO databases on EBSCOhost, as well as how to use the result list to limit your results and read the full text of articles.

Articles/E-Databases

Business Source Premier  

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Econlit

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's. For details click here

Global Economic Monitor (GEM)  

Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations. For details click here

Informs Journals  

Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) publishes 12 scholarly journals including the flagship journals Operations Research and Management Science. It provides full text access to current four years content from these ISI ranked peer reviewed journals.

ITC (International Trade Centre) Market Analysis Tools  

The ITC Market Analysis and Research (MAR) section is part of the Programme of Market Development of the International Trade Centre (ITC). Through MAR services, ITC provides on-line tools, provides tailored market research and trade analysis, and conducts training programmes in market analysis for trade policy makers, trade support institutions and the business community in developing countries. MAR services comprise a number of web-based applications including: Trade Map, Market Access Map, Investment Map, Trade Competitiveness Map and Product Map which are now accessible through Market Analysis Tools Portal.

LexisNexis  

More than legal research, the LexisNexis® Total Research System provides you online access to state and federal case law; codes and statutes; court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles. It has over 3.5 billion public records; business news, legal news, and regional news; expert commentary on the law; Shepard's® Citations Service; and more.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.