Skip to main content

Introduction to Western Political Philosophy: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and much more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Musharraf Government, Political Situation  etc.

Search Articles

Scopus

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery

Human Development Reports

Human Development Reports:

Human development – or the human development approach - is about expanding the richness of human life, rather than simply the richness of the economy in which human beings live. It is an approach that is focused on people and their opportunities and choices.

e-Databases

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Economic & Political Weekly  

The Economic and Political Weekly (EPW) is a weekly Indian magazine published from Mumbai. It publishes original research and analysis on economics, political, sociology and history and known for its strong editorial stands having social conscience. For further details click here

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Political Sciences, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences and Education.

LexisNexis  

More than legal research, the LexisNexis® Total Research System provides you online access to state and federal case law; codes and statutes; court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles and Political Sciences. It has over 3.5 billion public records; business news, legal news, and regional news; expert commentary on the law; Shepard's® Citations Service; and more.

Project Muse  

Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.

Questia Digital Library 

This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

SCOPUS  

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities

Science Direct

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Political Sciences, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

NEW LEFT REVIEW  

New left review published every two months from London. New Left Review analysis World Politics, the Global Economy, State powers and protest movements: Contemporary Social Theory, History and Philosophy, Cinema, Literature, Heterodox Art and Aesthetics. A complete index of the New Left Review, going back to 1960, can be searched by Author, Title or Subject.

The New York Times (NYT)  

The New York Times (NYT) is an American newspaper and internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. For an insightful view of the world, there's no paper like The New York Times. Its coverage Science, Art, Business, Sports, Movies, Travel, and book reviews. It has been organized into sections like News, Editorials, Opinions, & Columns.

University of Chicago Press Journals  

Over 50 scholarly journals of the world’s most prestigious societies are accessible here. Its first scholarly publication was the Journal of Political Economy, introduced in 1892.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly