Skip to main content

Financial Institutions and Markets: E-Databases

e-Databases

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full text articles from journals in Economics, Business, Human Resource Management, Law, Political Science, Sociology, History, and much more disciplines, coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: balance sheet etc.

Search Articles

Specialized Databases

IMF Balance of Payment Statistics 

It summarizes for a specific period (typically a year or quarter), the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world and covers all the goods, services, factor income and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world.

IMF Direction of Trade Statistics 

It contains data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports are aggregated at national or regional group level.

IMF International Financial Statistics 

The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.

UNIDO Industrial Statistics Database 

The database contains time series data starting with 1981 to the latest available year for approximately 102 countries. The data is arranged according to the International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC) at the 4-digit level, which provides for the inclusion of 81 industries in the manufacturing sector. Information is presented by country, year, and industry.

World Bank Global Development Finance (GDF Online)

GDF (online) contains statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use.

Subscribed Databases

Business Source Premier   

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis.

Econlit  

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's.

Global Economic Monitor (GEM)  

Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances.

Informs Journals  

Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) publishes 12 scholarly journals including the flagship journals Operations Research and Management Science. It provides full text access to current four years content from these ISI ranked peer reviewed journals.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

Project Muse  

Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

SpringerLink  

One of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

This database provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Business and Economics, Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

SCOPUS

Articles indexed in SCOPUS. 

SCOPUS is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. SCOPUS offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities

Google Scholar

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery