Skip to main content

Business Communication: e-Databases

Searching Tips

Search here for journal articles on your subject. Start with these databases these cover a wide range of relevant subjects, therefore you should find some resources on your topic, or use the search box to search in all the library databases.

Examples of "smart searching" techniques:

  • Narrow a search using AND
    • Example:  interpersonal relations AND business
  • Broaden a search by using OR  (Separate synonyms with an OR) 
    • Example:  (interpersonal OR mutual) AND
      (relations OR communications)  
  • Broaden a search by using Truncation  (Use a truncation symbol to search for different endings to words)
    • Example:   (employee* OR staff OR personnel ) AND
      (communica* OR correspondence*)
  • Search for words as phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks
    • Example:  "effective communication"
  • You can also use the left column (Refined Results) to narrow or expand the search results using “limit to”, “source type” or “subject” etc.

Librarians are our best search engines and can also help you with any questions you have. Speak with them in person or send a query online at Ask a Librarian.

Search Help on Web Discovery

User Guide 

The links on this page are designed to cover the basics of using the EBSCOhost interface. This includes how to search and browse EBSCO databases on EBSCOhost, as well as how to use the result list to limit your results and read the full text of articles.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Communication skills etc.

Search Articles

SCOPUS

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Google Scholar

e-Databases

Business Source Premier  

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Duke University Press  

Duke University Press publishes more than 40 journals on a wide range of disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Econlit

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's. For details click here

Informs Journals  

Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) publishes 12 scholarly journals including the flagship journals Operations Research and Management Science. It provides full text access to current four years content from these ISI ranked peer reviewed journals.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete back files of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

Questia Digital Library 

This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.