Skip to main content

BIO STATISTICS: Databases

This course will provide multi-modality training of research methods to the students. There will be equal emphasis on biostatistics, research methods, data-mining skills, and literature review.

Searching Tips

Databases are collections of articles that are published on a regular basis to report current research within a discipline. Use keywords, phrases, titles or authors or use Boolean operators (AND, OR, or, NOT) to construct a more complex query. Refine using these filters to narrow or expand your results most related to your topic. Keywords Biology, Microbiology etc.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: nature, cell etc.

Search Articles

Scopus

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery

Databases

SCOPUS  

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are Biology, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Wiley Online Library  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences, and Education.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Springer Link   

One of the world's leading online information services for biology, scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

PubMed Central

(For community users) PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Botanicus.org 

Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Botanicus is made possible through support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, W.M. Keck Foundation, and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Bio-Protocol

Created by Stanford researchers, bio-protocol is a freely available peer-reviewed e-journal/database of protocols in the life sciences. Its mission is to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high-quality, open-access, life science protocols.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic open access web resources. As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources.

arXiv Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journal TOCs A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)

Google Scholar