Skip to main content

Chemistry of Organic Functional Groups: Useful Links

This course is designed to apply the fundamental concepts learned during CHEM 231 to understand more about the important classes of organic compounds such as saturated/unsaturated hydrocarbons, alkyl halides, alcohols, aromatic and heterocyclic compounds,

Recommended Website

ACS Green Chemistry Institute  Links and other information about green chemistry

Chemical Genealogy Trace the doctoral lineage of chemists

Chemistry Dictionary for Word Processors  Download a free chemistry dictionary (licensed under Creative Commons) for word processors. The dictionary is compatible with Microsoft Office (Windows or Mac), and Open Office (Windows or Linux).

Chromatography Books Online

Common Chemistry From Chemical Abstracts Service, a free look-up for CAS Registry Numbers of approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest.

eMolecules Free database to find suppliers and properties; can search by the structure.

Hazardous Substances Data Bank  Information on hazardous substances, from the National Library of Medicine.

IUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature  From the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry

IUPAC Gold Book Compilation of chemical terminology from IUPAC (The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry).

MatWeb Free source of materials properties, searchable by the range of property values.

Patents (European Patent Office)  A free source of patents from eighty-four countries and international organizations worldwide.

Patents (Google) An easy-to-search free source of U.S. patents

Patents (U.S. Patent Office) Patents and patent applications.

Periodic Table formulations Display some of the many formulations of the Periodic Table over the centuries, including both pre- and post- Mendeleev, as well as Mendeleev's own tables.

Periodic Table Live! Information on elements of the periodic table linking to a range of information, including discovery and history, preparation, uses, physical data, atomic data (ionization energy, radii, volume, etc.), images, video, and crystal structure.

Periodic Table of the Elements Interactive table with images

Periodic Table of Videos Periodic table with video clips of descriptions of elements, from chemists at the University of Nottingham (UK).

Polymer Science Learning Center Spectral Database Provides proton and 13C NMR, IR, and mass spectral data for 200 monomers and polymers.

Spectroscopic Tools Searchable for chemical shifts, infrared band locations, etc.

WebElements Periodic Table