Skip to main content

The Cold War: Citing Sources

Citing Sources

EndNote Web: a Web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. Undergraduate students can organize their references for citing in papers. Professional researchers and graduate students can use EndNote Web as the perfect complement to EndNote and other desktop writing tools, as well as storing references between ISI Web of Knowledge search sessions.

Zotero: an easy-to-use yet powerful research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways. It has the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references and the best parts of modern software and web applications (like iTunes and del.icio.us), such as the ability to interact, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero integrates tightly with online resources; it can sense when users are viewing a book, article, or other object on the web, and on many major research and library sites find and automatically save the full reference information for the item in the correct fields.

citeulike: free service for managing and discovering scholarly references. It can easily store references you find online, discover new articles and resources, automated article recommendations, share references with your peers, find out who's reading what you're reading, and store and search your PDFs.

EasyBib (Write Smart): The free version of EasyBib formats citations in the latest edition of the MLA format (currently the 7th edition). To use EasyBib's APA formatting services, sign up for MyBib Pro by clicking here: https://www-secure.easybib.com/products/easybibpro.

KnightCite: an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. This service simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources. The service is provided free of charge by the college, and is available to members both within and outside of the Calvin community.

JabRef: an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef runs on the Java VM (version 1.5 or newer), and should work equally well on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.

Son of Citation Machine: Professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to -- because SOMEDAY THE INFORMATION THAT SOMEONE ELSE WANTS TO USE -- WILL BE YOURS!

refbase: This web database lets you manage your academic references online, and share them with your colleagues. Using this free web service you can upload your references and see what others are reading, the database currently features 24047 records, organize and group your references, and assign keywords to them, so it's easy to get back to a reference, generate a formatted list of citations for your academic paper or CV (as HTML, RTF, PDF, or LaTeX), export references to desktop reference managers (such as Endnote, or Reference Manager) or BibTeX, and import records from common bibliographic formats and online databases.

Academic Writing Lab

Who We Are

We are a group of experienced and trained college writers on a mission to help unleash the writer within you! The Academic Writing Lab (AWL) hires its tutors after a rigorous selection process and the selected tutors are trained intensively. Over time, we have developed strategies that enable us to deal with students with a wide range of writing abilities. It does not matter who you are, or which major you are pursuing, we are here to provide you with honest and sincere feedback in an amicable and low-pressure environment.

What We Do

The purpose of the Academic Writing Lab is simple: 

Assisting students to write coherently, logically and efficiently and empowering them to do so in the future on their own. 

The AWL is a service provided by the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences to cater to the needs of the growing student population at LUMS in order to reinforce college writing skills throughout the academic career and improve the quality of assignments as well as ensure that students are equipped for research writing in higher-level courses. The Writing Tutors aim to assist you with anything related to the college writing process. So whether you are fretting about the structure and coherence of your argument or battling a particularly severe bout of writer’s block, we at the AWL are waiting for you! All you need to do is relax, and bring your rough drafts or outlines and we shall assist you through your task.

The AWL has successfully worked with students (especially freshmen) in the following areas: 

  • selection of research topics
  • crafting effective thesis statements
  • logical argumentative and persuasive techniques 
  • essay structure and organisation 
  • common grammatical errors
  • selection of appropriate language and tone
  • citation styles and avoiding plagiarism

However, this is not to say that the AWL is meant only for beginning academic writers. The Lab also offers crucial services of critical review to more senior students in an attempt to help them streamline their thought processes, guide them to formulate and present their ideas logically and enjoy access to an intelligent and responsive audience.

Feel free to walk in with your ideas, outlines or drafts!.

Location 

Room S3, alongside A 7 (Second floor, Academic Block - PDC side)
 

Hours

Monday to Friday 11:00 am to 7:00 pm
 

Events at the AWL

The AWL Open House: 
 
“Eat a Book - Read a Cupcake ... Avoid Mistakes!” 
 

Workshops

  • MLA Referencing in 60 Minutes
  • Eliminating Common Grammatical Errors
  • Lets Argue! ... but Logically...


Contact Us

Email: writinglab@lums.edu.pk
 
Coordinator:
 
Dr. Aamna Khalid
aamna@lums.edu.pk
 
Assistant Coordinator:
 
Daniyal Ahmed
13020552@lums.edu.pk
 
 
We do not edit papers; we equip students with the tools to do the job themselves.