Skip to main content

The Cold War: e- References

Welcome to Reference Resources

Find below variety of reference resources!

Dictionaries, Thesauri

  • Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Ed. allows regular and wildcard searching, so you can find all the words ending in a given suffix. 
  • Your dictionary.com (A Web of Online Dictionaries) provides links to more than 400 dictionaries in more than 130 different languages.
  • OneLook Dictionaries is the best place to look up a word or term in an Internet dictionary or glossary. Free search access to a frequently updated database of words, terms, names, acronyms vs Internet links to on-line dictionaries or glossaries.
  • Dictionary.com is a free online dictionary, thesaurus, translator, word of the day, crossword puzzles and word games, and vocabulary learning resources for many languages.
  • Bartleby.com is an online publication of The American Heritage Dictionary, Fourth Edition. Featuring 70,000 audio word pronunciations, 900 full-page illustrations and over 10,000 new words and senses.
  • Roget's Thesaurus is searchable by headword or full text.
  • Webster Thesaurus online version of the Merriam-Webster Thesaurus.
  • Thesaurus.com is the online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English words and phrases.
  • Webster Gateway provides a hypertext point-and-click interface for accessing various dictionary services on the Internet. 
  • VoiceNation List of Online Dictionaries, Thesauri, Acronyms and Encyclopedias and More! 

Social Science and Policy Bulletin

Encyclopedias

Britannica Online is the online version of Encyclopedia Britannica and includes internet links.

Encyberpedia is an electronic encyclopedia with its own content as well as over 10,000 links to the best reference sites on the Internet.

The Probert Encyclopaedia is a serious reference source with over 60,000 fully hypertext linked entries covering the entire spectrum of human knowledge, content is aimed at journalists and researchers.

Wikipedia This is an open-content encyclopedia produced by volunteers and is not peer reviewed. Contains more than 7,000,000 articles in several languages.

 

Google Map

Almanacs