Skip to main content

Applied Macroeconomics: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and many more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Economics Budget, Economic survey etc.

Search Articles

Scopus

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

POPULAR Databases

Data Resource Unit LUMS 

Data Resource Unit (DRU) is an online repository of data resources developed by the Department of Economics at Lahore University of Management Sciences to facilitate academic and policy-oriented research on Pakistan. 

ITC (International Trade Centre) Market Analysis Tools  

The ITC Market Analysis and Research (MAR) section is part of the Programme of Market Development of the International Trade Centre (ITC). Through MAR services, ITC provides on-line tools, provides tailored market research and trade analysis, and conducts training programmes in market analysis for trade policy makers, trade support institutions and the business community in developing countries. MAR services comprise a number of web-based applications including: Trade Map, Market Access Map, Investment Map, Trade Competitiveness Map and Product Map which are now accessible through Market Analysis Tools Portal.

IMF Direction of Trade Statistics 

It contains data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports are aggregated at national or regional group level.

IMF International Financial Statistics 

The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages.

IMF Balance of Payment Statistics 

It summarizes for a specific period (typically a year or quarter), the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world and covers all the goods, services, factor income and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world. For details click here

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

UNdata - a data access system to UN databases 

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. UNdata is the brainchild of UNSD, the statistical arm of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs and the coordinator of statistical activities throughout the UN System. UNSD's core mission is to advance the development of the global statistical system and promote the dissemination of statistical information.

World Bank Global Development Finance (GDF Online)  

GDF (online) contains statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported in standard formats.

PC-TAS - Trade Analysis System 

PC-TAS contains five-year time series of foreign trade (import/export) statistics extracted from the COMTRADE database of the United Nations Statistical Division (UNSTAT), which covers over 90% of world trade. The data provides an overview of actual import and export values, quantities and trends broken down by country of origin or destination, for each product. It contains foreign trade data covering 200 countries and territories broken down into 3,800 Standard International Trade Classification (SITC revision 3) products viewable at the 1, 4 or 5-digit level or 5,300 Harmonized System (HS revision 0) products viewable at the 2- and 6-digit level.

UN Comtrade | International Trade Statistics Database

Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

World Development Sources (World Bank)

World Development Sources (WDS) is a web based text search and retrieval system which contains a collection of over 6,000 World Bank reports most of which are scanned and are available in imaged format, which you can access via a web browser and search through a multi-field search engine. These include Project appraisal reports, Economic and Sector Works, Evaluation reports, studies and working papers.

e-Databases

Business Periodicals on Disc, Research Ed. 1971-1987 (index) 1988-1998 (Fulltext)

BPO has been a premier source of business information for more than 30 years. The database contains full text and abstracts of major business and economics journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

CBI (Centre for the Promotion of Imports from Developing Countries)

The Centre for the Promotion of Imports from developing countries (CBI) was established in 1971. CBI is an Agency of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and part of the development cooperation effort of the Netherlands. CBI contributes to the equitable economic development of selected developing countries by providing export marketing and management support to their SME exporters and Business Support Organisations with the purpose of increasing exports to Europe. This is achieved by concentrating on five core competencies: Market knowledge, Product and production improvement, quality control, export marketing and management, market entry.

Economic & Political Weekly  

The Economic and Political Weekly (EPW) is a weekly Indian magazine published from Mumbai. It publishes original research and analysis on economics, political, sociology and history and known for its strong editorial stands having social conscience. For further details click here

Econlit

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Global Economic Monitor (GEM)

Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations. For details click here

Thomson Reuters Datastream 

 

A powerful one-stop desktop solution that integrates economic research and strategy with cross-asset, macroeconomic analysis for greater insights and profits.

 

Jamal's Yellow Pages of Pakistan

Jamal's Yellow Pages (JYP) is a complete up-to-date source of information on all sorts of business activities operating in Pakistan. With a very intuitive and easy to use interface, the software helps in getting business addresses and contacts in a flash. Not only this, JYP serves as direct marketing agent as well, with full facility to export data to different other formats.

World Development Indicators

This a resource where World Bank's premier data on development is compiled. It is a collection of statistical data and commentary. It focuses on people, economy, environment, states and markets, and global links. The CD-ROM contains a database of more than 550 indicators selected from a time series database of 40 years and 208 countries, where data is available. It also contains full text of WDI book. The data can be exported in several formats. WDI 2003 has new user friendly interface.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly