Skip to main content

Digital System Design: Standards & Patents

This course explains how to go about designing complex, high-speed digital circuits and systems. The use of modern EDA tools in the design, simulation, synthesis and implementation is explored. Application of a hardware description language such as Verilo

Standard

Computer and Communication

A very complete listing of companies, organizations, news groups and sources dealing with standards and standardization in the areas of communications and computer science.

Internet RFC/STD/FYI/BCP Archives

This Web site is an archive for the following Internet documents: RFCs (requests for comments), STD (standards), FYI (for your information), and BCP (best current practices). Searchable by keyword or document number, the archives may also be browsed by several indexes. All documents are freely available.

RFC Editor

Funded by the Internet Society, the RFC Editor is the master repository of RFCs (requests for comments) as well as RFC metadata. Search results include the metadata, links to the RFC text itself, and links to any errat

Standards.gov

Standards.Gov offers background materials and useful links for locating information about the use of standards in government. PLEASE NOTE: The primary focus is on federal agency use of standards for regulatory and procurement purposes

4specs.com  

Provides free listings for product manufacturers and trade organizations. It links materials, specifications, and companies

Patents

Canadian Intellectual Property Office 

The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) is the patent, trademark, and copyright administration body of Canada. Structurally the CIPO functions as a Special Operating Agency (SOA) which is associated with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

EPO European Patent Office

Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.

Free Patents Online
A searchable database of the more recent U.S., European, and Japanese patents

Google's Advanced Patent Search

Searches by: word or phrase, patent number, title, inventor, original assignee, current U.S. classification, international classification, patent type/status, and date. **NOTE: Google's Patent search is not as up-to-date as the USPTO's databases.

U.S. Patents

The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. In doing this, the USPTO fulfills the mandate of Article I, Section 8, Clause 8, of the Constitution that the legislative branch "promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries." The USPTO registers trademarks based on the commerce clause of the Constitution (Article I, Section 8, Clause 3).