Reference Books
Encyclopaedias
Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance by Call Number: R 330.031 W842E 1994ISBN: 1557383960Publication Date: 1994-03-01- Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance by Call Number: KIC 332.0321 M966E 1983ISBN: 0872670422Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of accounting terms by Call Number: 657.03 F873D 1985ISBN: 0906322677Publication Date: 1985
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by Call Number: R 332.03 D554 2005ISBN: 0198607490Publication Date: 2005-06-23
Handbooks
- Accounting handbook for small & medium businesses by Call Number: 657.9042 A172 2006ISBN: 9698558047Publication Date: 2006
The Handbook of Management Accounting by Call Number: 658.1511 H236 2004ISBN: 0750665181Publication Date: 2004- International standards on auditing and international auditing practice statements by Call Number: 657.450218 I612Publication Date: 2002
- Auditing standards and International Statements on Auditing by Call Number: R 657.450218 A912 1999Publication Date: 1999
Online Dictionaries
1,800 English idioms, phrases and expressions, with their meanings and origins explained.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Ed.
Allows regular and wildcard searching, so you can find all the words ending in a given suffix.
Your dictionary.com (A Web of Online Dictionaries)
It provides links to more than 400 dictionaries in more than 130 different languages.
Dictionary.com is a free online dictionary, thesaurus, translator, word of the day, crossword puzzles and word games, and vocabulary learning resources for many languages.
It is an online version of the Merriam-Webster Thesaurus.
It is an online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English words and phrases.
Encyclopedias
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.
Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 trusted sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations.
Reference Resources: A brief introduction
Reference sources are great resources to use as you get started on your topic. They are not intended to be read cover-to-cover, but rather provide you with more concise information as you begin to explore a topic. Reference sources generally provide:
- Background information about a topic.
- Brief, factual overviews of topics.
- Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
- Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic
- Articles written by authors with expertise in the subject matter
- Bibliographies of sources for further reading.
