Skip to main content

Experimental Chemistry Lab: Encyclopedias / Dictionaries

This Lab is designed to augment and strengthen the concepts learnt in The Principles of Chemistry course by applying those fundamentals to the real world problems in laboratory.

Encyclopedias for Chemistry and Related Disciplines

Biochemistry glossary. Browse only; requires browser’s “search” function. Hosted by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

CAS General Subject Vocabulary Helper This free resource can be used to look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.

Periodic table of the elements. Los Alamos's mission is to solve national security challenges through scientific excellence.

Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. - Contains nearly 51,000 entries and “more than 80,000 hypertext cross-references”.

Encyclopaedia Britannica - “Search the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus: Britannica’s Student and Concise encyclopedias, the Web’s best sites, multimedia, magazines, and more.”

ENCYCLOPEDIA.COM- “Provides users with more than 57,000 frequently updated articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition. Each article is enhanced with links to newspaper and magazine articles as well as pictures and maps - all provided by eLibrary.”

America's Best Colleges - Current information and rankings of U.S. Colleges and Universities - from U.S. News and World Report's America's Best Colleges.