Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Writing and Research Methods: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Further Readings

Online Dictionaries

Justia 

Justia - Glossary & Dictionary Index - Free Legal Information - Laws, Blogs, Legal Services and More.

Legal Dictionary (FindLaw)

The FindLaw Legal Dictionary -- free access to over 8260 definitions of legal terms. Search for a definition or browse our legal glossaries.

Legal Glossary (Nolo)

Find plain-English definitions for legal terms by browsing Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary.

Phrase Finder  

1,800 English idioms, phrases and expressions, with their meanings and origins explained.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Ed. 

Allows regular and wildcard searching, so you can find all the words ending in a given suffix. 

Your dictionary.com (A Web of Online Dictionaries) 

It provides links to more than 400 dictionaries in more than 130 different languages.

Dictionary.com 

Dictionary.com is a free online dictionary, thesaurus, translator, word of the day, crossword puzzles and word games, and vocabulary learning resources for many languages.

Roget's Thesaurus 

This thesaurus is searchable by headword or full text.

Webster Thesaurus 

It is an online version of the Merriam-Webster Thesaurus.

Thesaurus.com 

It is an online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English words and phrases.

Encyclopaedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition    

Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.

Highbeam Encyclopedia 

Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 trusted sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations.

Wex    

Welcome to Wex, LII's community-built, freely available legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia.