Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Labor Law: e-Databases

Law Databases

Journal articles, especially law reviews will give you detailed discussions of very specific issues, and will cite extensively cases, statutes, regulations, and other useful sources. This page highlights several tools and methods that are useful for labor and employment law research.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. 

Search Articles

Law e-Databases

LexisNexis  

More than legal research, LexisNexis provides you online access to State and Federal Case Law; Codes and Statutes; Court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles.

Westlaw India  

This database has exclusive Indian content version, equipped with the international quality with complete archive of judgments delivered by the Supreme Court of India, All High Courts and prominent Tribunals & Commissions, Legislations, Notifications, and Circulars.

Pakistan Lawsite 

This source ensembles the idea of LAWONLINE. This is one stop resource site for statutes, rules and cases relating to Pakistan. This site is one of its kind and houses all the federal and provincial statutes and cases related to these statutes and more than 1200 essays and other legal documents available here. 

Popular e-Databases

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across social science subjects such as Law, Politics, Religion, Humanities, and Pure Sciences and Technology.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's covering Law, Politics, and such other subjects.

JSTOR   

An online archive database with complete back files of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Political Sciences, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, and Education.

Project Muse  

This source offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences (Law, Politics, Religion, Philosophy, and Psychology etc.) journals worldwide.

Science Direct    

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are Legal Studies, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provide access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, and it covers 79 Law journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Free e-Databases

​BAILII

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. In August 2012, BAILII included 90 databases covering 7 jurisdictions. The system contains around 36 gigabytes of legal materials and around 297,513 searchable documents.

Europa - Gateway to the European Union

The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent. The EU is based on the rule of law: everything that it does is founded on treaties, voluntarily and democratically agreed by all member countries.

EUR-Lex - Access to European Law

EUR-Lex provides free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to the Official Journal of the European Union, EU law, Preparatory acts, International agreements, and EU Case Law.  

Indian Kanoon

Indian Kanoon achieves law documents into smallest possible clause and by integrating Laws/Statutes with Court judgments. A tight integration of court judgments with laws and with themselves allows automatic determination of the most relevant clauses and court judgments.

Legal Scholarship Network       

The Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) is directed by Bernard Black and Ronald J. Gilson. LSN Research Paper Series offer your institution a way to showcase and distribute the research of your faculty and staff. We encourage the readers of our journals to communicate directly with other members of the SSRN Community regarding their own and other's research.

 Jurisprudence

The jurisprudence database is intended to be a single source of the human rights recommendations and findings issued by all above committees in their work on individual cases.