Plagiarism Detection Service
Library facilitates LUMS faculty's access to online plagiarism detection and management software i-e Turnitin. Library also provides similarity report and certificate according to HEC rules for final thesis and projects. For similarity Index reports and certificates, please send your document(s) to the following email addresses:
Similarity Index Reports (8.30 a.m. to 8.00 p.m.)
For plagiarism certificate, please send your document(s) to the following email address:
Muhammad Safdar (8.30 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.)
Which Tool is Best for You?
Citation Tracking
Journal Impact Factor
The impact factor is an indicator of journal quality. A measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year, the impactor factor is calculated by dividing the number of current citations to articles published in the two previous years by the total number of articles published in the two previous years. Ultimately, the impact factor will help you evaluate a journal's relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field.
ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR Online)
Click on the "select a database" tab, and then the "Journal Citation Reports" tab. Select the "JCR Social Sciences Edition." You can browse a group of journals by category (e.g. "Communication), search for a specific journal, or view all journals.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
You can look for 'refereed' indicator, circulation statistics, and included abstracting/indexing services for a good indication of a journal's impact.
The number of libraries owning a journal is an indication of the impact and importance of the journal. Go to 'advanced search' and search by title or ISSN. Look at the 'libraries worldwide' link.
Citation Analysis
Citation Analysis or citation tracking is a way to see the impact of an article in its field. Also, it's a great way to use a "landmark" or influential article to find more recent, related articles that cite the landmark article.
- ISI Web of Science
Select the "Web of Science" database. Then use the "Cited Reference Search" link to find articles that cite the work(s) of an author. Use the format [Last Name First Initial*] (e.g. Smith H*).
Go to "advanced search" and use the "references" field.
Click on "advanced search" and select the "References" field from the drop-down box.
Search results that have been cited by others will have a link that says "Cited by [number]." Click that link to go to the citing authors.Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Citing Sources
EndNote Web: a Web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. Undergraduate students can organize their references for citing in papers. Professional researchers and graduate students can use EndNote Web as the perfect complement to EndNote and other desktop writing tools, as well as storing references between ISI Web of Knowledge search sessions.
Zotero: an easy-to-use yet powerful research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways. It has the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references and the best parts of modern software and web applications (like iTunes and del.icio.us), such as the ability to interact, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero integrates tightly with online resources; it can sense when users are viewing a book, article, or other object on the web, and on many major research and library sites find and automatically save the full reference information for the item in the correct fields.
EasyBib (Write Smart): The free version of EasyBib formats citations in the latest edition of the MLA format (currently the 7th edition). To use EasyBib's APA formatting services, sign up for MyBib Pro by clicking here: https://www-secure.easybib.com/products/easybibpro.
KnightCite: an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. This service simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources. The service is provided free of charge by the college, and is available to members both within and outside of the Calvin community.
JabRef: an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef runs on the Java VM (version 1.5 or newer), and should work equally well on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.
Son of Citation Machine: Professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to -- because SOMEDAY THE INFORMATION THAT SOMEONE ELSE WANTS TO USE -- WILL BE YOURS!
refbase: This web database lets you manage your academic references online, and share them with your colleagues. Using this free web service you can upload your references and see what others are reading, the database currently features 24047 records, organize and group your references, and assign keywords to them, so it's easy to get back to a reference, generate a formatted list of citations for your academic paper or CV (as HTML, RTF, PDF, or LaTeX), export references to desktop reference managers (such as Endnote, or Reference Manager) or BibTeX, and import records from common bibliographic formats and online databases.
