Skip to main content

Introduction to philosophy: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and much more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Philosophical Nature etc. 

Search Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

Scopus and Web of Knowledge

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

ISI Web of Knowledge 

with over 1.4 Billion records1 billion cited references 1900 – present is the search and discovery choice for 5000+ academic and research institutions. It assists in finding cover-to-cover indexing of the world’s most important multidisciplinary scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, published data sets, and patents. Within the core collection of the platform, a key set of citation indices makes up the most influential content.

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery

e-Databases

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Edinburgh University Press  

Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals. It provides access to over 37 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Philosophy,Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

NEW LEFT REVIEW

New left review published every two months from London. New Left Review analysis World Politics, the Global Economy, State powers and protest movements: Contemporary Social Theory, History and Philosophy, Cinema, Literature, Heterodox Art and Aesthetics. A complete index of the New Left Review, going back to 1960, can be searched by Author, Title or Subject.

Project Muse  

Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.

Questia Digital Library 

This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

SCOPUS  

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.