E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and much more disciplines; coverage varies by title.
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Ancient history etc.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.
Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly
Nearly 200 open access books primarily focusing on Asian Studies.
Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals. It provides access to over 37 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
A program of the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press for publishing open access monographs, maps, oral history.
An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering History, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.
More than legal research, the LexisNexis® Total Research System provides you online access to state and federal case law; codes and statutes; court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles. It has over 3.5 billion public records; business news, legal news, and regional news; expert commentary on the law; Shepard's® Citations Service; and more.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities
The New York Times (NYT) is an American newspaper and internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. For an insightful view of the world, there's no paper like The New York Times. Its coverage Science, Art, Business, Sports, Movies, Travel, and book reviews. It has been organized into sections like News, Editorials, Opinions, & Columns.
Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 466 billion archived web pages.
Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.
New left review published every two months from London. New Left Review analysis World Politics, the Global Economy, State powers and protest movements: History, Contemporary Social Theory and Philosophy, Cinema, Literature, Heterodox Art and Aesthetics. A complete index of the New Left Review, going back to 1960, can be searched by Author, Title or Subject.
This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the History and full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.