Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy and Economics: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and many more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Economics Budget, Economic survey etc.

Search Articles

SCOPUS

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

e-Databases

Business Source Premier 

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database and features the full text of more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

IMF Library 

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade, and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.

JSTOR 

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences, and Education.

Science Direct

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full-text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database ar Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Economic & Political Weekly 

The Economic and Political Weekly (EPW) is a weekly Indian magazine published in Mumbai. It publishes original research and analysis on economics, politics, sociology, and history and known for its strong editorial stands having a social conscience.

Econlit 

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Global Economic Monitor (GEM) 

Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations.

World Development Indicators 

This is a resource where World Bank's premier data on development is compiled. It is a collection of statistical data and commentary. It focuses on people, the economy, the environment, states and markets, and global links. The CD-ROM contains a database of more than 550 indicators selected from a time series database of 40 years and 208 countries, where data is available. It also contains the full text of the WDI book. The data can be exported in several formats. WDI 2003 has a new user-friendly interface.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

Google Scholar Search