Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Colonialism and Colonial Legacies: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and many more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Cultural Anthropology, physical Anthropology etc.

Search Articles

Scopus & ISI Web of Knowledge

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

 

ISI Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)

Web of Science is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, proceedings. An integrated web-based platform, the ISI Web of Science provides high-quality content and tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. It offers researchers the navigational and retrieval functions. Web of Science data coverage is over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

Google Scholar Search

e-Databases

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews is a searchable database that provides full-text access to critical review articles that synthesize the primary contributions in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Coverage of significant developments is provided in volumes for 46 focused disciplines within Anthropology, biochemistry, economics, marine science, medicine, nutrition, psychology, sociology, and more. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR). Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.

 

Duke University Press

Duke University Press publishes more than 40 journals on a wide range of disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

 

Cambridge Journals Online 

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

 

Edinburgh University Press

Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals. It provides access to over 37 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Project Muse 

Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.

 

Science Direct

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Anthropology, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

 

JSTOR 

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Anthropology, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

 

Questia Digital Library

This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

 

SpringerLink

One of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

 

Wiley Interscience 

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.