Skip to main content

Swimming for Beginners: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and many more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Social Issues, Social behaviours etc.

Search Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

Google Scholar Search

e-Databases

Science Direct

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: ​​Sociology, Anthropology, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

LexisNexis  

More than legal research, the LexisNexis® Total Research System provides you online access to state and federal case law; codes and statutes; court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles and Political Sciences. It has over 3.5 billion public records; business news, legal news, and regional news; expert commentary on the law; Shepard's® Citations Service; and more.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.