Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Literature: e-Databases

The objective of this guide is to facilitate the students in their course and discussion about the role of the law, the life it rules over and administers, and the complex nature of circumstances of the law.

e-Databases

Databases are online tools that help you search for articles on a particular topic. Article databases are organized by broad subject area (e.g. law, Constitutions, Labor law, etc.), and some are interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. The database use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. 

Law e-Databases

HeinOnline  

HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 173 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage. Entire database is dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations and much more.

LexisAdvance  

More than legal research, LexisNexis provides you online access to State and Federal Case Law; Codes and Statutes; Court documents and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles.

Pakistan Lawsite 

This source ensembles the idea of LAWONLINE. This is one stop resource site for statutes, rules and cases relating to Pakistan. This site is one of its kind and houses all the federal and provincial statutes and cases related to these statutes and more than 1200 essays and other legal documents available here. 

Westlaw India  

This database has exclusive Indian content version, equipped with the international quality with complete archive of judgments delivered by the Supreme Court of India, All High Courts and prominent Tribunals & Commissions, Legislations, Notifications, and Circulars.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. 

Popular e-Databases

Cambridge Journals Online   

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across social science subjects such as Law, Politics, Religion, Humanities, and Pure Sciences and Technology.

Emeraldinsight   

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's covering Law, Politics, and such other subjects.

JSTOR     

An online archive database with complete back files of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Political Sciences, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, and Education.

Science Direct    

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are Legal Studies, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Scopus    

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles. It offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Free e-Databases

​BAILII

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. In August 2012, BAILII included 90 databases covering 7 jurisdictions. The system contains around 36 gigabytes of legal materials and around 297,513 searchable documents.

Google Scholar  

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of legal literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly.

Indian Kanoon

Indian Kanoon achieves law documents into smallest possible clause and by integrating Laws/Statutes with Court judgments. A tight integration of court judgments with laws and with themselves allows automatic determination of the most relevant clauses and court judgments.

Jurisprudence

The jurisprudence database is intended to be a single source of the human rights recommendations and findings issued by all above committees in their work on individual cases.

Legal Scholarship Network       

The Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) is directed by Bernard Black and Ronald J. Gilson. LSN Research Paper Series offer your institution a way to showcase and distribute the research of your faculty and staff.

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery