Searching Tips
Journals are collections of articles that are published on a regular basis to report current research within a discipline. Use keywords, phrases, titles or authors or use Boolean operators (AND, OR, or, NOT) to construct a more complex query. Refine using these filters to narrow or expand your results most related to your topic. Keywords: Microcontroller and Interfacing Lab, Engineering, Science, Technology etc.
Search Articles
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Microcontroller and Interfacing Lab, Engineering, CS, Physics etc.
Indexing Databases
ISI WEB OF KNOWLEDGE (WEB OF SCIENCE) 
Web of Science is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, proceedings. An integrated web-based platform, the ISI Web of Science provides high-quality content and tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. It offers researchers the navigational and retrieval functions. Web of Science data coverage is over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.
Help with Abbreviations (Journals) - CASSI
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this complimentary tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
Google Scholar
e-Databases
Provides full-text access to 132 IEEE and 45 IEE journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards.
The ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.
ACM Digital Library (Association of Computing Machinery)
Provides access to thirty magazines and journals in computing and IT, with complete archive reaching back to 1950's. It also includes the ACM Special Interest Group newsletters and conference proceedings, many with full archives in 34 distinct areas of information technology address your varied interests - Programming Languages, Graphics, and Mobile Communications etc. For further details click here
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature. It is the online version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, which are published by the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet indexes and abstracts journals, books, and proceedings in mathematics. The database covers from 1940 to the present and is updated daily.
One of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, engineering, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.
The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are:Engineering, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.
Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.
Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.
Open Access Database
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic open access web resources. As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources.
Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
DMOZ is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web
A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Provides access to NASA's current and historical aerospace research and engineering results.
