Theses and Dissertations
Pakistan Research Repository
Pakistan Research Repository is a project of the Higher Education Commission to promote the international visibility of research originating out of institutes of higher education in Pakistan. The aim of this service is to maintain a digital archive of all PhD theses produced indigenously to promote the intellectual output of Pakistani institutions. It provides a free, single-entry access point to view the manuscript of the research executed and distribute this information as widely as possible.
Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries holds about 750,000 foreign doctoral dissertations from around the globe other than Canada.
Online Encyclopedias
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Brittanica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.
Searches a collection of free encyclopedias and other reference works on the internet. HighBeam Encyclopedia provides current and archived articles from more than 3,500 credible reference works and publications, including newspapers, journals, and magazines. Searching our site allows you to find the exact article you’re searching for in our online research archive of more than 60 million Web articles. This article archive search is perfect for students looking for homework help, educators wanting to keep up with current information, and businesspeople looking to gain an edge.
Wikipedia
Search Oxford Reference
Reference Books
Encyclopaedias
Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance by Call Number: R 330.031 W842E 1994ISBN: 1557383960Publication Date: 1994-03-01- Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance by Call Number: KIC 332.0321 M966E 1983ISBN: 0872670422Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of accounting terms by Call Number: 657.03 F873D 1985ISBN: 0906322677Publication Date: 1985
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by Call Number: R 332.03 D554 2005ISBN: 0198607490Publication Date: 2005-06-23
Handbooks
- Accounting handbook for small & medium businesses by Call Number: 657.9042 A172 2006ISBN: 9698558047Publication Date: 2006
The Handbook of Management Accounting by Call Number: 658.1511 H236 2004ISBN: 0750665181Publication Date: 2004
Why use Reference Books
Locating background information in general and subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries and other reference resources will help you put information in context.
Consulting reference materials will help you:
Get an overview of the subject.
- Note key concepts/developments.
- Identify significant authors.
- See a chronology/timeline.
- Discern connections/interrelationships with other developments.
- Develop a list of search terms.
- Use the bibliographies to locate other information on your topic.
