Film and Screen Studies Research Seminar: e-Databases

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Social Issues, Social behaviours etc.

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection 

This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

Project Muse 

Project MUSE offers full text access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. It is the most reliable source of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. It provides full text access to more than 147888 articles from 406 scholarly journals by more than 100 publishers.

Science Direct 

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Anthropology, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

JSTOR 

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Anthropology, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

SpringerLink 

One of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

Wiley Interscience 

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.