Skip to main content

Financial Institutions and Markets: Reference Resources

Search Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example
Search Oxford Reference Online

Online Dictionaries

Phrase Finder   1,800 English idioms, phrases and expressions, with their meanings and origins explained.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Ed.  Allows regular and wildcard searching, so you can find all the words ending in a given suffix. 

Your dictionary.com (A Web of Online Dictionaries)  It provides links to more than 400 dictionaries in more than 130 different languages.

Dictionary.com  Dictionary.com is a free online dictionary, thesaurus, translator, word of the day, crossword puzzles and word games, and vocabulary learning resources for many languages.

Roget's Thesaurus  This thesaurus is searchable by headword or full text.

Webster Thesaurus  It is an online version of the Merriam-Webster Thesaurus.

Thesaurus.com  It is an online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English words and phrases.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition    

Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.

Highbeam Encyclopedia 

Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 trusted sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations.

Encyberpedia  

This encyclopedia is an electronic encyclopedia with its own content as well as over 10,000 links to the best reference sites on the Internet.

Google