Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology of Migration: Home

Introduction

I have created this guide as a helpful starting point for your research in Anthropology of Migration, especially in terms of finding relevant source material, including both quantitative and qualitative data. The links I include here by no means exhaust the resources LUMS Library makes available for your research, so if you don't find something you're looking for, please email me or make an appointment to meet with me using the contact information on this page.

Library Services

Gad and Birgit Rausing Library is a multi-disciplinary library serving the faculty, students, researchers, and staff of the university. It is providing quality innovative services to its' patrons. 

Useful Info

LUMS Library provides virtual access to its resources, i.e. databases, eBooks and journals etc. Click Below to Get Off-Campus Access

News and Announcement

Humanities and Social Sciences Professor Publishes Book on the Pakistani Youth’s Relationship with their Country

Dr. Tania Saeed, Assistant Professor at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences (MGSHSS) at LUMS, has recently published a book titled ‘Youth and the National Narrative. Education, Terrorism and the Security State in Pakistan’. The book is a unique window into how Pakistan is likely to evolve in the next few decades. Co-authored by Dr. Marie Lall, Professor of Education and South Asian Studies at the Institute of Education, University College London (UCL) UK, the book utilises interviews with nearly 2000 Pakistanis aged 16-28 gathered over a decade and examines the relationship between Pakistan as a security state and its youth, specifically in terms of citizenship, education, political activism and social media.

The LUMS Digital Archive; Exploring Alternate Histories

Dr. Ali Raza and Dr. Ali Usman Qasmi, Associate Professors at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences, have curated a first of its kind Digital Archive at LUMS. A collaboration with the Technology and Peace Initiative (TPI), the Archive is a research repository that aims at collecting, cataloging and preserving rare material (books, pamphlets, newspapers and other items) of historical significance and making them available to researchers. In particular, the Archive focuses on events, groups, movements and personalities relating to broader historical, political and cultural trends in South Asia, with an emphasis on preserving the accounts of marginalised and subaltern groups. 

Brown Bag Series: A Talk by Amin Hussain

Basic Network Analysis of KSE-100

For the third edition of the Brown Bag Series, the Economics Department invited Amin Hussain, a Teaching Fellow in the economics department, to give a talk. What distinguishes Amin Hussain from the rest of the faculty is that he did not start out as an Economist. He was initially an Electrical Engineer and it was later on that he developed an interest in Economics and went on to do his Masters in Economics from both LUMS and the London School of Economics and Political Science. He was selected for the esteemed Commonwealth Scholarship. The talk was primarily about research that Amin Hussain was doing on the Karachi Stock Exchange (KSE-100). Read More

Plagiarism Detection Service

Library facilitates LUMS faculty's access to online plagiarism detection and management software i-e Turnitin. Library also provides similarity report and certificate according to HEC rules for final thesis and projects.For similarity Index reports and certificates contact:

waris.arslan@lums.edu.pk (8.30 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.)

muhammad_zeeshan@lums.edu.pk (8.30 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.)

imran.siddique@lums.edu.pk (11.30 a.m. to 8.00 p.m.)

Senior Librarian

Muhammad Zeeshan's picture
Muhammad Zeeshan
Contact:
Opposite U Sector DHA Lahore, Pakistan.
+92-04235608000-8166
Website

Fresh Arrivals

New books added in library collection for patrons.