Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ORGANIC CHEMISTRY: Reference Sources

This introductory lab course is designed to familiarize students with the basic skills and techniques used in organic chemistry. These techniques include separation, purification, and identification of organic compounds based on crystallization, chromatog

Dictionary

Chemistry 

Biochemistry glossary. Browse only; requires browser’s “search” function. Hosted by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

CAS General Subject Vocabulary Helper This free resource can be used look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.

Periodic table of the elements. Los Alamos's mission is to solve national security challenges through scientific excellence.

Pesticide Common Names. Lists of common names (e.g., DDT, malathion, paraquat), molecular formulae (e.g., C13H17F3N4O4), Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers (e.g. 50-00-0, 209866-92-2), systematic names (e.g., 2-tert-butyl-4,6-dinitrophenol); also hierarchical lists of pesticides.

General Reference Sources

Encyclopedias:
Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. - Contains nearly 51,000 entries and “more than 80,000 hypertext cross-references”.

Encyclopaedia Britannica - “Search the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus: Britannica’s Student and Concise encyclopedias, the Web’s best sites, multimedia, magazines, and more.”

ENCYCLOPEDIA.COM- “Provides users with more than 57,000 frequently updated articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition. Each article is enhanced with links to newspaper and magazine articles as well as pictures and maps - all provided by eLibrary.”

Directories:
America's Best Colleges - Current information and rankings of U.S. Colleges and Universities - from U.S. News and World Report's America's Best Colleges.

Associations on the Net -A collection of over 1100 Internet sites providing information about a wide variety of professional and trade associations, cultural and art organizations, political parties and advocacy groups, labor unions, academic societies, and research institutions - American, Canadian and International - from the Internet Public Library.