Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Islamic Capital Markets and Instruments: e-Databases

Searching Tips

Search here for journal articles on your subject.  Start with these databases, they cover a wide range of relevant subjects therefore you should find some resources on your topic, or use following search box to search in all the library collections.

Examples of "smart searching" techniques:

  • Narrow a search using AND
    • Example:  Sharia AND finance
  • Broaden a search by using OR  (Separate synonyms with an OR) 
    • Example:  (banking OR finance) AND
      Islam 
  • Broaden a search by using Truncation  (Use a truncation symbol to search for different endings to words)
    • Example:   (econom* OR business OR financial) AND
      (evaluat*)
  • Search for words as phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks
    • Example:  "regression analysis"

  • You can also use the left column (Refined Results) to narrow or expand the search results using “limit to”, “source type” or “subject” etc.

Librarians can also help you with any questions you have. Speak with them in person or send a query online to Ask a Librarian.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Balance Sheet Comparison. etc.

Search Articles

SCOPUS

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search help on Web Discovery

Articles/E-Databases

Business Source Premier  

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

CBI (Centre for the Promotion of Imports from Developing Countries) 

The Centre for the Promotion of Imports from developing countries (CBI) was established in 1971. CBI is an Agency of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and part of the development cooperation effort of the Netherlands. CBI contributes to the equitable economic development of selected developing countries by providing export marketing and management support to their SME exporters and Business Support Organisations with the purpose of increasing exports to Europe. This is achieved by concentrating on five core competencies: Market knowledge, Product and production improvement, quality control, export marketing and management, market entry.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's. For details click here

IMF eLibrary  

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

SpringerLink  

One of the world's leading online information services for scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

Econlit

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

World Bank Global Development Finance (GDF Online)  

GDF (online) contains statistical data for the 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections. Data selection screens are intuitive and easy to use. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported in standard formats.

World Development Indicators  

This a resource where World Bank's premier data on development is compiled. It is a collection of statistical data and commentary. It focuses on people, economy, environment, states and markets, and global links. The CD-ROM contains a database of more than 550 indicators selected from a time series database of 40 years and 208 countries, where data is available. It also contains full text of WDI book. The data can be exported in several formats. WDI 2003 has new user friendly interface.