Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Software Engineering for Smart Grids: Databases

This seminar course focuses on the issues and applications of software technology to support the modernization of our electrical infrastructure commonly known as the smart grid. Participants will read selected papers on software for the smart grid to beco

Searching Tips

Use the links below to browse the list of periodicals that focus on Computer-related topics. Use these lists and links if you want to find a particular article in one of these periodicals, or want to search for articles by topic in one of these periodicals, or to browse one of these periodicals. If you want to do research across many different periodicals on a specific topic, use one of the databases listed on the Databases tab. Search Articles:

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Computer Language etc.

Search Articles

Scopus

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Tutorial for Search help on Web Discovery

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

e-Databases

ACM Digital Library (Association of Computing Machinery)  

Provides access to thirty magazines and journals in computing and IT, with complete archive reaching back to 1950's. It also includes the ACM Special Interest Group newsletters and conference proceedings, many with full archives in 34 distinct areas of information technology address your varied interests - Programming Languages, Graphics, and Mobile Communications etc. For further details click here

IEEEXplore  

IEEEXplore provides full-text access to 132 IEEE and 45 IEE journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards.

MathSciNet  

A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature. It is the online version of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, which are published by the American Mathematical SocietyMathSciNet indexes and abstracts journals, books, and proceedings in mathematics. The database covers from 1940 to the present and is updated daily.

OXFORD REFERENCE  

Oxford Quick Reference online brings together language, and subject reference works from one of the world's largest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. It provides more than 150+ dictionaries in all major subjects’ areas including Humanities, Social Sciences, Languages, Science & Engineering, and quotations, etc.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are Computer, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

SCOPUS  

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities

SpringerLink  

One of the world's leading online information services for math, Computer, scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer reviewed journals are available with back files starting from different dates.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of computer, science, technology, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

Open Access Database

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources.

arXiv Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.

CiteSeerX CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

DMOZ: computers DMOZ is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of the Web

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journal TOCs A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) Provides access to NASA's current and historical aerospace research and engineering results.

Anvaari, M., D. S. Cruzes, and R. Conradi (2012, January). Smart Grid software applications as an ultra-large-scale system: Challenges for evolution. 2012 IEEE PES Innovative Smart Grid Technologies (ISGT), 1-6.
Bankier, C. J. (2010). GridIQ – A Test Bed for Smart Grid Agents By. Development (September), 70.
Barbera, R., G. Donvito, A. Falzone, G. La Rocca, L. Milanesi, G. P. Maggi, and S. Vicario (2009). The GENIUS Grid Portal and robot certificates: a new tool for e-Science. BMC Bioinformatics 10 (Suppl 6), S21.
Baumeister, T. (2010). Literature Review on Smart Grid Cyber Security. (December).
Beenken, P., S. Rohjans, M. Specht, and M. Uslar (2010). Towards a standard compliant
Smart Grid through Semantic Web Technologies concerning interoperability , security and SOA. PowerGrid Europe.

Belkacemi, R., A. Feliachi, M. A. Choudhry, and J. E. Saymansky (2011). Multi-Agent
systems hardware development and deployment for smart grid control applications. In Power and Energy Society General Meeting 2011 IEEE, pp. 1-8.
Bou Ghosn, S., P. Ranganathan, S. Salem, J. Tang, D. Loegering, and K. E. Nygard (2010b,
October). Agent-Oriented Designs for a Self Healing Smart Grid. 2010 First IEEE International Conference on Smart Grid Communications, 461-466.
Brewer, R. and P. Johnson (2010, October). WattDepot: An open source software ecosystem for enterprise-scale energy data collection, storage, analysis, and visualization. First International Conference on Smart Grid Communications, 91-95.
Carreira, P., V. Amaral, and B. Barroca (2011). The case for a systematic development of Building Automation Systems.
Cerf, V. G. (2011). Open Source, Smart Grid, and Mobile Apps. Internet Computing IEEE 15 (1), 96. 1
Chopade, P., K. M. Flurchick, M. Bikdash, and I. Kateeb (2012, March). Modeling and
visualization of Smart Power Grid: Real time contingency and security aspects. 2012
Proceedings of IEEE Southeastcon, 1-6.
Clements, S. and H. Kirkham (2010). Cybersecurity considerations for the smart grid. IEEE PES General Meeting , 1-5.
Cohen, D. A. and C. E. O. Infotility (2008). GridAgents TM : Intelligent Agent Applications for Integration of Distributed Energy Resources within
Distribution Systems. pp. 1-5.
Dam, Q. B., L. Gleason, and V. McMullin (2011). Using agility to build robust, real-time
platforms for smart grid software services. In Power Systems Conference and Exposition
PSCE 2011 IEEEPES, pp. 1-5. IEEE.
Depuru, S. S. S. R., L. Wang, and V. Devabhaktuni (2011). Smart meters for power grid:
Challenges, issues, advantages and status. Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews 15 (6), 2736-2742.
Dugan, R. C. and T. E. McDermott (2011). An open source platform for collaborating on
smart grid research. In Power and Energy Society General Meeting 2011 IEEE, Number Ivvc, pp. 1-7. IEEE.
Dugan, R. C. and T. E. Mcdermott (2011). An Open Source Platform for Collaborating on Smart Grid.
Erol-Kantarci, M. and H. T. Mouftah (2011). Wireless multimedia sensor and actor networks for the next generation power grid. Ad Hoc Networks 9 (4), 542-551.
Espinoza, A., M. Ortega, C. Fernandez, J. Garbajosa, and A. Alvarez (2011,
July). Software-intensive systems interoperability in Smart Grids: A semantic
approach. 2011 9th IEEE International Conference on Industrial Informatics, 739-744.
Fernandes, R. a. S., I. N. Silva, and M. Oleskovicz (2010, July). Identification of
residential load profile in the Smart Grid context. IEEE PES General Meeting, 1-6.
Feroze, H. (2009). Multi-Agent Systems in Microgrids : Design and Implementation Multi-Agent Systems in Microgrids : Design and Implementation Hassan Feroze. Ph. D.
thesis.
Fhom, H. S., N. Kuntze, C. Rudolph, M. Cupelli, and A. Monti (2010). A User-centric Privacy Manager for Future Energy Systems. Power (October), 1-7.
Cerf, V.G.. (2011). Open Source , Smart Grid , and Mobile Apps. pp. 7801.
Haan, J. E. S. D., S. Member, P. H. Nguyen, and W. L. Kling (2011). Social Interaction
Interface for Performance Analysis of Smart Grids. pp. 79-83.