Genetics: Reference Resources

OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY  

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present, and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis and listings of variant spellings.

ENGLISH TO URDU BIOLOGY DICTIONARY

Dictionary either English or Urdu or of any other language plays an important role in learning a language. English dictionary helps us to define words and find their easy meaning in English or in our native language. In Pakistan, there is a craze for learning the English language and people often need to translate difficult English words into Urdu. They search for English to Urdu dictionary online and look for their desired word meaning in Urdu. Keeping the need of Pakistani people I have launched this free dictionary that will help them to find the definition of English words in a simple Urdu language

AlphaDictionry.com  Search 1065 Online English Dictionaries at Once!

Generals Dictionaries 

Cambridge English Dictionaries Online access to Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary and some other dictionaries published by Cambridge University Press. more...

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. 

Wordsmyth An online dictionary and thesaurus.more...

ION: Index to Organism Names 

This is another online and free resource brought to us by Thomson Reuters who are responsible for Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, and Zoological Record databases.  This index provides information about species taxonomy and name variation. 

Encyclopedia of Life 

This online and free resource allows to quickly search for a species using either common name or scientific name.  This is an excellent starting point when finding out information on a species.