Introduction
Welcome to the Gad & Birgit Rausing Library's guide.This guide's main goal is to assist you in locating a variety of rich resources, such as books, journals, etc., that could be helpful for your LUMS coursework and research projects. This guide's coverage of library resources will help you locate and get the best research material that satisfies your needs.
Library Services
Gad and Birgit Rausing Library is a multi-disciplinary library serving the faculty, students, researchers, and staff of the university. It is providing quality innovative services to its' patrons.
Fresh Arrivals
New books added in library collection for patrons.
Grammarly
Please click the below link, click log in and sign up with LUMS id to create the premium (Edu) account; once the account is created, you will receive an email to activate your account
https://www.grammarly.com/edu
As the activation process is done, you can also add in Grammarly for MS Windows. Note: If you have created a commercial (free) Grammarly account against your LUMS ID, please make sure you delete it first.
Academic Calendar
News and Announcements
Cambridge Teachers Conference 2024: Finding Educational Balance in a Changing World
The Cambridge Teachers Conference 2024, titled ‘Finding Educational Balance in a Changing World’, convened at the Pearl Continental Lahore on June 26, bringing together educators from diverse backgrounds to address pressing issues in today’s educational landscape. Organised by the Cambridge International Examinations, the conference was a pivotal platform for discussing the future of education in light of technological advancements and societal changes. A highlight of the event was the keynote speech delivered by Dr. Ali Cheema, Vice Chancellor of LUMS, who provided an overview of the challenges and opportunities facing education today. Dr. Cheema emphasised the crucial role of educators in shaping the future of Pakistan and beyond, acknowledging the profound responsibility teachers hold in moulding young minds. “I want to thank CIE for giving me this opportunity. It is an incredible honour to talk to schoolteachers and leaders who are going to be central in determining the future of Pakistan,” remarked Dr. Cheema, acknowledging the influential role of educators in policy and practice.
Celebrating Ustad Sher Zaman's Calligraphic Legacy
On July 26, 2024, the Gurmani Centre for Language and Literature at LUMS celebrated the opening of ‘A Life in the Service of Pen’, a beautifully curated exhibition honouring the masterful calligrapher Ustad Sher Zaman, the in-house calligrapher of the Centre. The event offered a captivating display of Sher Zaman’s calligraphic prowess, highlighting his profound contributions to the art form. The exhibition featured an impressive array of Sher Zaman’s work, including calligraphic panels executed in traditional nasta‘līq, thuluth, and naskh scripts. These works encompassed Quranic verses, poetry, and literary texts in Urdu, Persian, Punjabi, and Pashto, that were celebrated for their intricate design and nuance.
LUMS Partners with ThinkWell Global to Promote Health Financing in Pakistan
LUMS signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) on July 26, 2024, with ThinkWell Institute, USA, a global health systems development organisation focused on achieving universal health coverage. The agreement promises diverse collaboration opportunities between the two institutes to promote initiatives on health financing in Pakistan, with a particular focus on gender and climate. ThinkWell works in more than 20 countries to advance universal health coverage. Its main areas of expertise are providing technical advice to governments, especially in lower-middle income countries, related to healthcare financing, human resources in health, and health governance.
Plagiarism Detection Service
The library facilitates LUMS faculty's access to online plagiarism detection and management software i-e Turnitin. Library also provides similarity reports and certificates according to HEC rules for final thesis and projects. For similarity Index reports and certificates contact:
similarity@lums.edu.pk
Weekdays (9.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m.)
Saturday & Sunday (10:00 am to 08:00 pm)
For Plagiarism Certificates:
muhammad_safdar@lums.edu.pk
Librarian
Off-Campus Access
LUMS Library provides virtual access to its resources, i.e. databases, eBooks and journals etc. Click Below to Get Off-Campus Access
Bibliography
Your bibliography must follow either the APA, MLA or The Chicago Manual of Style. Whatever style you use, make sure you use it correctly and consistently. Do not have more than one style in a bibliography.
