Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering Physics Project Lab: Database

Welcome to the Subject Guide of Physics. This guide will help you research topics related to Physics. Start with the tabs above to find books, articles, websites, and other relevant resources. If you have any questions or need help researching a topic, dr

Searching Tips

The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles.  They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library.

Search Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Indexing Databases

ISI WEB OF KNOWLEDGE (WEB OF SCIENCE)  

Web of Science is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, proceedings. An integrated web-based platform, the ISI Web of Science provides high-quality content and tools to access, analyze, and manage research information. It offers researchers the navigational and retrieval functions. Web of Science data coverage is over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books.

 

SCOPUS  

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

 

Help with Abbreviations (Journals) - CASSI 

The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this complimentary tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Databases

AMERICAN PHYSICAL SOCIETY (APS)   

ACS is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation. Full-text access is available for all titles back to the start date of the publication, some back as far as the 1800s.1800s.

IEEE Xplore  

Provides full-text access to 132 IEEE and 45 IEE journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards.

JSTOR   

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences, and Education.

ASTM  

The ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present. Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to the present.

Wiley Online Library  

Wiley Online Library offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the full text of the last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are Chemistry Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Springer Link  

One of the world's leading online information services for Chemistry, scientific, technical, and medical books and journals. Over 1100 fully peer-reviewed journals are available with backfiles starting from different dates.

Open Access Database

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic open access web resources. As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalizes, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources.

arXiv Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journal TOCs A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)

Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive

Archive beginning in 1991 of preprints in mathematical physics, hosted at the University of Texas.

CERN Document Server

Provides access to records of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. It includes preprints, as well as articles, books, proceedings, lectures, photographs, and more - including the full text of many items.

International Centre for Theoretical Physics Archives

Provides access to documents and media that are produced at ICTP, including preprints, lecture notes, annual reports, photos, and more.