Biochemistry glossary. Browse only; requires browser’s “search” function. Hosted by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.
CAS General Subject Vocabulary Helper This free resource can be used look up or confirm publication titles and abbreviations, as well as CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN codes. The CASSI database contains a listing of publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) since 1907.
Periodic table of the elements. Los Alamos's mission is to solve national security challenges through scientific excellence.
Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. - Contains nearly 51,000 entries and “more than 80,000 hyper text cross-references”.
Encyclopaedia Britannica - “Search the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus: Britannica’s Student and Concise encyclopedias, the Web’s best sites, multimedia, magazines, and more.”
ENCYCLOPEDIA.COM- “Provides users with more than 57,000 frequently updated articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition. Each article is enhanced with links to newspaper and magazine articles as well as pictures and maps - all provided by eLibrary.”
America's Best Colleges - Current information and rankings of U.S. Colleges and Universities - from U.S. News and World Report's America's Best Colleges.
Associations on the Net -A collection of over 1100 Internet sites providing information about a wide variety of professional and trade associations, cultural and art organizations, political parties and advocacy groups, labor unions, academic societies, and research institutions - American, Canadian and International - from the Internet Public Library.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
All aspects of biochemistry, with additional coverage on molecular biology, cell biology, and biophysics.
Comprehensive Renewable Energy
Renewable energy resources (solar, biomass & biofuels, wind, fuel cells, etc), history, science & technology, applications, future potential. Some econ/policy coverage. Also: Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science & Technology
Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
Fundamental concepts to new findings and applications of polymers, including characterization, polymerization, nanostructured polymer materials, and polymer applications.
Comprehensive Biophysics
Including techniques for studying macromolecular structure, protein folding, membranes & channels, simulation & modeling, muscle & molecular motors, cell biophysics, bioenergetics. Also: Encyclopedia of Biophysics.
Handbook of Spectroscopy
Introduction to spectroscopy methods (NMR, mass, optical, etc) and applications (biological, polymer, environmental, etc). (2014)
Articles on atmospheric science and related subjects, including clouds, aerosols, and global change.
Comprehensive Biotechnology
Covers biotechnology topics, including fundamentals, commodity products like biofuels, agricultural, biomedical, and environmental biotechnology.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Articles on life science topics, including biochemistry.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science & Technology
Articles on materials science: applications, materials, properties, techniques and processing.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics & Physical Chemistry
Fundamentals, methods and applications of chemical physics and physical chemistry; each article has a bibliography for further reading.
Comprehensive Nanoscience & Technology
Nanomaterials, Biological Nanoscience, Nanostructured Surfaces, Nanofabrication and Devices, Self-Assembly and Nanochemistry. (More nano encyclopedias here)
Comprehensive Biomaterials
Biomaterials, from basic science to clinical applications, from conventional and accepted materials to emerging prototypes and future directions.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Topics in chemical biology, emphasizing the role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences
Comprehensive Natural Products II: Chemistry & Biology
Articles about natural products at the intersection of chemistry & biology concerned with isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics.
Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry
Reference work covering all aspects of applied electrochemistry, including theoretical concepts, instrumentation, and new materials and technologies.
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
Coordination chemistry topics, including fundamentals, transition metal groups, bio-coordination chemistry, and applications.
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
Articles on computational chemistry topics, including applications, cheminformatics, quantum mechanics and biochemical modeling.
