The purpose of this guide is to provide an up-to-date introduction to the study of Language. The Linguistics/ Language Major ensures that students get a strong disciplinary foundation with a grounding in theory and methods, along with a choice of courses that will allow them to pursue more specialised interests in the course of the programme.
Gad and Birgit Rausing Library is a multi-disciplinary library serving the faculty, students, researchers, and staff of the university. It is providing quality services to its' patrons.
LUMS Library provides virtual access to its resources, i.e. databases, eBooks and journals etc. Click Below to Get Off-Campus Access
New books added in library collection for patrons.
Dr. Tania Saeed, Assistant Professor at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences (MGSHSS) at LUMS, has recently published a book titled ‘Youth and the National Narrative. Education, Terrorism and the Security State in Pakistan’. The book is a unique window into how Pakistan is likely to evolve in the next few decades. Co-authored by Dr. Marie Lall, Professor of Education and South Asian Studies at the Institute of Education, University College London (UCL) UK, the book utilises interviews with nearly 2000 Pakistanis aged 16-28 gathered over a decade and examines the relationship between Pakistan as a security state and its youth, specifically in terms of citizenship, education, political activism and social media. Read More
The first event of the Halqa-e-Danish Ham-`asr Urdū Afsānā series took place on September 26, 2019. The series is being organized by the Gurmani Centre for Languages and Literature to celebrate contemporary Urdu short-story writers, and will continue throughout the fall semester. The guest for the first session was Bilal Hassan Minto, a Lahore-based lawyer, film-maker, and short-story writer. Minto has worked on four art house films — World Ka Centre, Javaid Shampoo, Kāli Shalwār, and Safar— and has published a short story collection titled Model Town (2015). Read More
Dr. Ali Raza and Dr. Ali Usman Qasmi, Associate Professors at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences, have curated a first of its kind Digital Archive at LUMS. A collaboration with the Technology and Peace Initiative (TPI), the Archive is a research repository that aims at collecting, cataloging and preserving rare material (books, pamphlets, newspapers and other items) of historical significance and making them available to researchers. In particular, the Archive focuses on events, groups, movements and personalities relating to broader historical, political and cultural trends in South Asia, with an emphasis on preserving the accounts of marginalised and subaltern groups. Read More
The library facilitates LUMS faculty's access to online plagiarism detection and management software i-e Turnitin. Library also provides similarity reports and certificates according to HEC rules for final thesis and projects. For similarity Index reports and certificates contact:
email@example.com Weekdays (9.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m.)
firstname.lastname@example.org Saturday & Sunday (10:00 am to 08:00 pm)
For Plagiarism Certificates: