I have created this guide as a helpful starting point for your research in Social Sciences, especially in terms of finding relevant source material, including both quantitative and qualitative data. The links I include here by no means exhaust the resources LUMS Library makes available for your research, so if you don't find something you're looking for, please email me or make an appointment to meet with me using the contact information on this page.
Gad and Birgit Rausing Library is a multi-disciplinary library serving the faculty, students, researchers, and staff of the university. It is providing quality services to its' patrons.
New books added in library collection for patrons.
LUMS Library provides virtual access to its resources, i.e. databases, eBooks and journals etc. Click Below to Get Off-Campus Access
Dr. Tania Saeed, Assistant Professor at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences (MGSHSS) at LUMS, has recently published a book titled ‘Youth and the National Narrative. Education, Terrorism and the Security State in Pakistan’. The book is a unique window into how Pakistan is likely to evolve in the next few decades. Co-authored by Dr. Marie Lall, Professor of Education and South Asian Studies at the Institute of Education, University College London (UCL) UK, the book utilises interviews with nearly 2000 Pakistanis aged 16-28 gathered over a decade and examines the relationship between Pakistan as a security state and its youth, specifically in terms of citizenship, education, political activism and social media.
On September 19, 2019 the third round of Khokha Natak began with a performance titled “chārpaʼī aur culture". An enactment of Mushtaq Ahmed Yousufi’s short story by the same name, chārpaʼī aur culture was a humorous performance that generated frequent peals of laughter from the audience. Mushtaq Ahmed Yousufi was played by Jawad Ghulam, who narrated the story while also enacting its events. His emphatic oration and lively acting brought the hilarity of the story to life. Equally enjoyable were the performances of Nida Hassan as Mirza, Hammad Bilal as Manto, and Javeria Hasnain as Mirza’s daughter.
Dr. Ali Raza and Dr. Ali Usman Qasmi, Associate Professors at the Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences, have curated a first of its kind Digital Archive at LUMS. A collaboration with the Technology and Peace Initiative (TPI), the Archive is a research repository that aims at collecting, cataloging and preserving rare material (books, pamphlets, newspapers and other items) of historical significance and making them available to researchers. In particular, the Archive focuses on events, groups, movements and personalities relating to broader historical, political and cultural trends in South Asia, with an emphasis on preserving the accounts of marginalised and subaltern groups. Read More
Your bibliography must follow either the APA, MLA or The Chicago Manual of Style. Whatever style you use, make sure you use it correctly and consistently. Do not have more than one style in a bibliography.