Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Financial Econometrics: e-Databases

Economics & Econometrics

Searching Tips

Search here for journal articles on your subject.  Start with these databases, they cover a wide range of relevant subjects therefore you can find some resources on your topic, or use search engines to explore all the library collections and the web.

Examples of "smart searching" techniques:

  • Narrow a search using AND
    • Example:  Econometric AND integration
  • Broaden a search by using OR  (Separate synonyms with an OR) 
    • Example:  (econometric OR economics) AND
      (techniques OR statistics tools)  
  • Broaden a search by using Truncation  (Use a truncation symbol to search for different endings to words)
    • Example:   (econom* OR business OR financial) AND
      (evaluat*)
  • Search for words as phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks
    • Example:  "regression analysis"

  • You can also use the left column (Refined Results) to narrow or expand the search results using “limit to”, “source type” or “subject” etc.

Librarians can also help you with any questions you have. Speak with them in person or send a query online to Ask a Librarian.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Economics of Pakistan etc.

Search Articles

SCOPUS

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Search Help on Web Discovery

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Articles/E-Databases

Business Source Premier  

Business Source Premier is the most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Econlit

Econlit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Emeraldinsight  

Provides full text of all 150+ Emerald online journals available, with full text back files, many going back to 1990's abstracts going back in some cases to 1980's. For details click here.

Global Economic Monitor (GEM)  

Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations. For details click here.

IMF eLibrary  

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, Anthropology, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

Science Direct  

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

Taylor & Francis Journals  

Taylor & Francis Journals provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed research journals published by Taylor & Francis, Rutledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare in Sciences, Engineering and Humanities subject areas generally from 1997 to present.

UNIDO Industrial Statistics Database 

The database contains time series data starting with 1981 to the latest available year for approximately 102 countries. The data is arranged according to the International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC) at the 4-digit level, which provides for the inclusion of 81 industries in the manufacturing sector. Information is presented by country, year, and industry. Each of the following items is covered: number of establishments, employment, wages and salaries, output, value added, gross fixed capital formation, and number of female employees. The data is originally stored in national currency values at current process. The system allows for data conversion from national currency into current U.S. dollars using the average period exchange rates as given in the International Financial Statistics (IFS).

UNdata - a data access system to UN databases 

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. UNdata is the brainchild of UNSD, the statistical arm of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs and the coordinator of statistical activities throughout the UN System. UNSD's core mission is to advance the development of the global statistical system and promote the dissemination of statistical information.

Wiley Interscience  

Wiley InterScience offers over 3 million articles from 1400+ journals, the combined output of all Wiley-Blackwell peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals. It covers the full spectrum of science, technology, Engineering, medicine, business, social sciences, and the humanities. Many of these titles are ranked at the forefront of their fields.