Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Financial Econometrics: Reference Resources

Economics & Econometrics

Wikipedia

Search Wikipedia:

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Handbooks

Search Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example
Search Oxford Reference Online

Maps

Atlapedia Online maps provide information such as climate, vital statistics, religions, languages, information on education, economy, trade, transportation, communication, and military.

Google Maps - Find local businesses, view maps and get driving directions in Google Maps.

MapQuest - find directions and explore towns and cities worldwide. Users can display addresses on a map, view nearby businesses, get driving directions and maps, and plan a trip with city information.

Quick Maps of the World - small GIF maps of the countries of the world.

World Atlas - a complete atlas of the world featuring several thousand place names and colorful, accurate maps.

Pakistan Research Repository

Pakistan Research Repository

Pakistan Research Repository is a project of the Higher Education Commission to promote the international visibility of research originating out of institutes of higher education in Pakistan. The aim of this service is to maintain a digital archive of all PhD theses produced indigenously to promote the intellectual output of Pakistani institutions. It provides a free, single-entry access point to view the manuscript of research executed, and distribute this information as widely as possible.

Calculators & Converters

Universal Currency Converter - allows you to perform interactive foreign exchange rate conversion on the Internet.

Calculators.Com - provides access to all types of calculators -- finance, business, science, health, cooking and various hobbies.

Martindale's Calculators Online - contains over 8,000 various calculators.

Why use Reference Books

Locating background information in general and subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries and other reference resources will help you put information in context.

Consulting reference materials will help you:

Get an overview of the subject.

  • Note key concepts/developments.
  • Identify significant authors.
  • See a chronology/timeline.
  • Discern connections/interrelationships with other developments.
  • Develop a list of search terms.
  • Use the bibliographies to locate other information on your topic.