Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pakistan’s Foreign Relations: Citing Sources

Why Cite Resources?

Citing resources in your research papers acknowledges that other people have influenced your ideas. Citations are also used to support your own ideas and arguments and to place your research in the larger context of a field of study (for instance, in a literature review or an annotated bibliography).

Citing work is essential to avoid accusations of plagiarism.

What is a Citation Manager?

When you write academic papers you will need to give credit to the works you have consulted to support your argument. Because academic papers often require a lot of citations, you can use a citation management tool to make keeping track of your sources easier! Use this guide to help you get started using citation management software. The tabs above offer specific advice on using EndNoteEndNote OnlineMendeleyRefWorks, and Zotero, including: how to add references to specific software, how to include references in your writing, and how to generate a bibliography.

Picking a Citation Manager

This guides includes information about popular citation management tools. Some are provided by Yale University and Yale Library, while others are free to use. The citation management tool you use is up to you. Below are some things to consider to help you decide. If you know which tool you need, use the tabs at the top of the page to learn how to get started collecting and managing citations and creating a bibliography.

All Citation Management tools have these basic features to help you...
  • Gather and transfer references from databases / resources / webpages into your personal research database
  • Organize, annotate, sort and search your references, images and PDFs
  • Insert in-text citations and reference lists into documents in a wide variety of styles (MLA, APA, etc)
  • Create stand alone bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
Before you choose which citation manager is right for you, here are some questions to ask yourself:
  • Does the tool support your citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago)?
  • Does the tool support sharing between people?
  • Is the tool compatible with the databases and websites you use?
  • What kinds of file formats are you collecting? Does the tool capture webpage snapshots, and does it store PDFs?
  • Does the tool allow you to work off-line or from multiple places?

Citing Sources

EndNote Web: a Web-based service designed to help students and researchers through the process of writing a research paper. Undergraduate students can organize their references for citing in papers. Professional researchers and graduate students can use EndNote Web as the perfect complement to EndNote and other desktop writing tools, as well as storing references between ISI Web of Knowledge search sessions.

Zotero: an easy-to-use yet powerful research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources (citations, full texts, web pages, images, and other objects), and lets you share the results of your research in a variety of ways. It has the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references and the best parts of modern software and web applications (like iTunes and del.icio.us), such as the ability to interact, tag, and search in advanced ways. Zotero integrates tightly with online resources; it can sense when users are viewing a book, article, or other object on the web, and on many major research and library sites find and automatically save the full reference information for the item in the correct fields.

citeulike: free service for managing and discovering scholarly references. It can easily store references you find online, discover new articles and resources, automated article recommendations, share references with your peers, find out who's reading what you're reading, and store and search your PDFs.

EasyBib (Write Smart): The free version of EasyBib formats citations in the latest edition of the MLA format (currently the 7th edition). To use EasyBib's APA formatting services, sign up for MyBib Pro by clicking here: https://www-secure.easybib.com/products/easybibpro.

KnightCite: an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. This service simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources. The service is provided free of charge by the college, and is available to members both within and outside of the Calvin community.

JabRef: an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format. JabRef runs on the Java VM (version 1.5 or newer), and should work equally well on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.

Son of Citation Machine: Professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources, that there is virtually no reason not to -- because Someday The Information That Someone Else Wants To Use -- Will Be Yours!

refbase: This web database lets you manage your academic references online, and share them with your colleagues. Using this free web service you can upload your references and see what others are reading, the database currently features 24047 records, organize and group your references, and assign keywords to them, so it's easy to get back to a reference, generate a formatted list of citations for your academic paper or CV (as HTML, RTF, PDF, or LaTeX), export references to desktop reference managers (such as Endnote, or Reference Manager) or BibTeX, and import records from common bibliographic formats and online databases.