Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Auditing: Reference Resources

ACCT 250

Reference Resources: A brief introduction

Reference sources are great resources to use as you get started on your topic. They are not intended to be read cover-to-cover, but rather provide you with more concise information as you begin to explore a topic. Reference sources generally provide:

  • Background information about a topic.
  • Brief, factual overviews of topics.
  • Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
  • Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic
  • Articles written by authors with expertise in the subject matter
  • Bibliographies of sources for further reading.

Online Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition

Online version of the Encyclopaedia Brittanica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.

 

Highbeam Encyclopedia

Searches a collection of free encyclopedias and other reference works on the internet. HighBeam Encyclopedia provides current and archived articles from more than 3,500 credible reference works and publications, including newspapers, journals, and magazines. Searching our site allows you to find the exact article you’re searching for in our online research archive of more than 60 million Web articles. This article archive search is perfect for students looking for homework help, educators wanting to keep up with current information, and businesspeople looking to gain an edge.

Google

Google Patent Search

Online Dictionaries

Phrase Finder  

1,800 English idioms, phrases and expressions, with their meanings and origins explained.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Ed. 

Allows regular and wildcard searching, so you can find all the words ending in a given suffix. 

Your dictionary.com (A Web of Online Dictionaries) 

It provides links to more than 400 dictionaries in more than 130 different languages.

Dictionary.com 

Dictionary.com is a free online dictionary, thesaurus, translator, word of the day, crossword puzzles and word games, and vocabulary learning resources for many languages.

Thesaurus.com 

It is an online version of Roget's Thesaurus of English words and phrases.