Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cancer Biology: Reference Resources

Cancer is caused by uncontrolled proliferation of cells and is one of the leading causes of death worldwide. The loss of control over proliferation is brought about by mutations in genes involved in signaling pathways that regulate cell fate. This course

Reference Resources

OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY  

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present, and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis and listings of variant spellings.

Encyclopedia of Life 

This online and free resource allows to quickly search for a species using either common name or scientific name.  This is an excellent starting point when finding out information on a species.

AlphaDictionry.com  Search 1065 Online English Dictionaries at Once!

Generals Dictionaries 

Cambridge English Dictionaries  Online access to Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary and some other dictionaries published by Cambridge University Press. more...

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. 

Wordsmyth An online dictionary and thesaurus.more...

History -- World: eReference

ION: Index to Organism Names

ION: Index to Organism Names 

This is another online and free resource brought to us by Thomson Reuters who are responsible for Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, and Zoological Record databases.  This index provides information about species taxonomy and name variation. 

Encyclopedia of Life