Skip to main content

Education in the Pakistani Context: e-Databases

Searching Tips

E-databases archive scholarly journal featuring full-text articles from journals in Social Sciences, Humanities, Political Science, Sociology, Economics, History, and many more disciplines; coverage varies by title.

Search Articles

Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords or concepts related to your topic. Use our Web Discovery service to search articles from databases subscribed by the LUMS Library. Keywords: Social Issues, Social behaviours etc.

Search Articles

Scopus and Web of Knowledge

Articles Indexed in SCOPUS

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

ISI Web of Knowledge 

with over 1.4 Billion records1 billion cited references 1900 – present is the search and discovery choice for 5000+ academic and research institutions. It assists in finding cover-to-cover indexing of the world’s most important multidisciplinary scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, published data sets, and patents. Within the core collection of the platform, a key set of citation indices makes up the most influential content.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a useful and effective resource that allows you to search across a wide range of literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly

Google Scholar Search

e-Databases

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews is a searchable database that provides full-text access to critical review articles that synthesize the primary contributions in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Coverage of significant developments is provided in volumes for 46 focused disciplines within Anthropology, biochemistry, economics, marine science, medicine, nutrition, psychology, sociology, and more. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR). Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.

Cambridge Journals Online  

Cambridge University Press’s collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Duke University Press  

Duke University Press publishes more than 40 journals on a wide range of disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.

Edinburgh University Press  

Edinburgh University Press is the premier Scottish publisher of academic books and journals. It provides access to over 37 journals across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.

Science Direct

The world's leading electronic collection of scientific journals and provides access to the fulltext of last 5 years. The subject areas covered in this database are: ​​Sociology, Anthropology, Business Management and Accounting, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Economics.

JSTOR  

An online archive database with complete backfiles of over 700 core scholarly journals covering ​Sociology, Anthropology, Business, Finance, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Language, Law, Religion, Philosophy, History, Geography, Biological Sciences, Political Sciences and Education.

Questia Digital Library 

This online library that provides 24/7 access to the world's largest online collection of over 67,000 books and 375,000 journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

OXFORD REFERENCE 

Oxford Quick Reference Online brings together language, and subject reference works from one of the world's largest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. It provides more than 150+ dictionaries in all major subjects areas including Humanities, Social Sciences, Languages, Science & Engineering, and quotations, etc.

“ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) is an online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses. It is a world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. This database includes over 2.4 million records and covers 1637 to the present.”

Library offers an increasing selection of more than 148,000+ e-books in business, economics, computers, engineering, and technology.